Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

International and Global Studies

by Jeremy M. Brown last modified Jul 21, 2017 04:37 PM
Databases

Multidisciplinary Databases

LexisNexis Academic 
Provides full-text documents from over 5,600 news, business, legal, medical, and educational sources. The sources include international, national, and regional newspapers, trade journals, wire services, broadcast transcripts, and government publications. This is a good resource for finding reports on countries and businesses.

Discovery
GALILEO Discovery is an “online library portal to authoritative, subscription-only information that isn’t available through free search engines or Web directories.” Discovery also provides an advanced search option so that the user is able to access multiple databases with a variety of disciplines in one place.

Web of Science (Web of Knowledge/Thomson Reuters) 
Provides detailed citations and abstracts for the top scholarly periodicals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Includes the Science Citation Index, the Social Sciences Citation Index, and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Covers both domestic and international journals, open access resources, books, patents, proceedings, and Web sites.

ScienceDirect (Elsevier)
Elsevier's Science Direct Web Editions provides access to the current twelve months of articles from about 200 journals in the physical and biological sciences. The issues are available on a rolling basis, so when the March 2010 issue is posted, the March 2009 issue is removed.

TOPICsearch (EBSCO) 
A current events database that offers many full text articles covering social, political, and economic issues, scientific discoveries, and other topics.

CQ Researcher (1991 to present)
The CQ Researcher is the choice of researchers seeking original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. It offers in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
This multidisciplinary database includes more than 6,100 full-text periodicals (over 5,100 of which are peer-reviewed), and also offers indexing and abstracts for monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database is updated daily and features PDF going back as far as 1887 with the majority of full-text titles in searchable PDF format.

ProQuest Databases 
Provides abstracts and indexing for over 2,600, as well as full text for over 1,700 scholarly journals and general magazines. Research Library is an expansion of, and replacement for, the database titled Periodical Abstracts Research II.

JSTOR
This database provides access to complete back files of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. This database provides archives of 33 journals related to Health Sciences, including Infection Control and 22 journals related to Health Policy, including Journal of Public Health Policy. JSTOR's agreement with publishers includes an updating provision referred to as a "moving wall," which is a fixed period of time ranging, in most cases, from 2 to 5 years, that defines the gap between the most recently published issue of any journal and the date of the most recent issue available in JSTOR. For this reason, JSTOR is primarily useful for historical research.

Dissertations and Theses Full Text (ProQuest)
This multidisciplinary database includes 2.7 million searchable citations to dissertations and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with 1.2 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Also available through this link is the option using the Advanced Search (selecting school name/code) to include and/or limit to doctoral dissertations and/or master’s theses produced by students at the Atlanta campus of Mercer University.

Environmental Studies Databases

Environment Complete (EBSCO) 
Offers coverage in the areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. The database also contains full text for more than 400 journals, including many of the most used journals in the discipline.

GreenFILE (EBSCO) 
GreenFILE covers scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports. The database contains nearly 300,000 records, full text for a few selected titles and searchable cited references for more than 200 titles. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.

AGRICOLA (EBSCO)
Available in the familiar EBSCO interface, this database covers every major agricultural subject including agricultural engineering and marketing, animal breeding, entomology, environmental pollution, farm management, foods and feeds, pesticides, rural sociology, social sciences, veterinary medicine, and water resources. The citations consist of journal articles, book chapters, monographs, conference proceedings, serials, technical reports, and other materials on a broad range of agricultural topics. Useful for animal model selection when researching public health topics.

Global Health Databases

MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus is the National Library of Medicine’s website for free consumer health information. It is a selective list of authoritative health information resources from the National Institutes of Health (NIH) and other organizations. It contains information on over 700 health topicsdrugs and supplements, an illustrated medical encyclopediamedical dictionarynewsdirectories that include locations and credentials of doctors, dentists and hospitals.

National Library of Medicine Databases
The National Library of Medicine offers 271 databases, electronic resources, and APIs that contain articles and information on a wide variety of health subjects.

MEDLINE (EBSCO) 
Available in the familiar EBSCO interface, this database includes extensive consumer health and patient education information on over 650 diseases and conditions.

POPLINE
This is the world’s largest database on reproductive health and focuses on particular developing-country issues including demography, AIDS and other sexually transmitted diseases, maternal and child health, primary health care communication, population, and environment. Maintained by the K4Health Project at the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health/Center for Communication Programs and is funded by the United States Agency for International Development. The database includes nearly 370,000 records with most of the items published from 1970 to the present. The database adds 10,000 records annually and is updated every Monday.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text (EBSCO)) — Search 800 nursing and allied health journals, nursing dissertations, and selected other biomedical journals. Many full-text articles available. Limited coverage of psychology and management literature is also included.

PsycARTICLES (EBSCO) 
This database, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The database contains more than 100,000 articles from 59 journals - 48 published by the APA and 11 from allied organizations. It includes all journal articles, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to present, and most APA journals are available from Volume 1, Issue 1.

PsycINFO (EBSCO)
Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines. Through linking functionality, some articles are available in full text. Coverage is from 1887-present.

International Affairs Databases

LexisNexis Academic 
Many types of publications, virtually all in full text: newspapers (in English, other languages, and translations of international papers), legal news, general interest magazines, medical journals, trade publications, company financial information, transcripts, wire service reports, government publications (such as the federal case law, U.S. Code, Code of Federal Regulations, Congressional Testimony, etc.), law reviews, and reference works (such as the Forbes Annual Directory, the Official Guide/American Marketplace and the US Global Trade Outlook).

Social Science Journals (ProQuest) 
Covers many topics including addiction studies, urban studies, family studies, and international relations.

Homeland Security Digital Library 
The digital library collection is focused on strategy and policy in the various subject areas of Homeland Security Research and supports the curriculum of the Center for Homeland Defense and Security (CHDS). Topics covered include borders and immigration, emergency management, infrastructure protection, intelligence, law and justice, management and economics, military, politics and government, public health, technology, terrorism and society, weapons and weapons systems.

ABI/INFORM Complete (ProQuest) 
ABI/INFORM Complete provides full text for over 1,461 U.S. and international journals covering all aspect of business and management. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for 759 journals. ABI/INFORM Complete is an expansion of, and replacement for, the database titled ABI/INFORM Global.

International and Global Statistics

CIA World Factbook
Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.

UNdata 
This resource brings UN statistical databases within easy reach of users, allowing them to search and download a variety of statistical resources of the UN system. Since its foundation, the United Nations System has been collecting statistical information from member states on a variety of topics, including crime, education, energy, environment, finance, food and agriculture, gender, health, HIV/AIDS, human development, industry, information and communication technology, labor, population, refugees, tourism, and trade.

World Trade Organization
The World Trade Organization (WTO) is the only global international organization dealing with the rules of trade between nations. The goal is to help producers of goods and services, exporters, and importers conduct their business. The WTO's databases and publications provide extensive access to trade and tariff data. (Description taken from WTO website.)

Eurostat
Eurostat is the statistical office of the European Union situated in Luxembourg. Its task is to provide the European Union with statistics at European level that enable comparisons between countries and regions. (Description taken from Eurostat website.)

Global Health Facts 
A project of the Kaiser Family Foundation, this resource provides data by country on HIV/AIDS, tuberculosis, malaria, and other key health and socio-economic indicators.

World Health Organization (WHO) 
WHO is the directing and coordinating authority for health within the United Nations system. It is responsible for providing leadership on global health matters, shaping the health research agenda, setting norms and standards, articulating evidence-based policy options, providing technical support to countries and monitoring and assessing health trends. You may also want to look at the Global Health Observatory, a WHO resource that includes the WHO database, reports, indicator registry, and country stats from each Member State.

International Social Survey Programme
This resource is an excellent source of statistical information on a wide variety of subjects in the social sciences, including the environment, national identity, social networks, family and changing gender roles, religion, leisure, and the role of government. Data is collected from 43 countries around the world and made available to researchers in raw form for further study. This website also includes a comprehensive bibliography of publications using ISSP data.

Gender Equality Data and Statistics (from The World Bank)
This gender data portal is a one-stop shop for gender information, catering to a wide range of users and providing data from a variety of sources. Data at the country level are organized under six thematic headings, which are aligned to the themes identified by the Inter-agency and Expert Group on Gender Statistics. (Description taken from the World Bank website.)

United States Statistics

Statistical Abstract of the United States (ProQuest) 
A resource that includes authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. Published annually by the Federal Government since 1878, ProQuest now updates and publishes this resource monthly.

US Energy Information Administration
Official energy statistics from the U.S. government. Also contains some environmental information (e.g., greenhouse gas emissions).

US Bureau of Labor Statistics
Offers statistics on consumer price, employment, wages, inflation, productivity, the U.S. economy, etc. This is a gold mine of current statistical data and reports covering consumer spending, employment, wages, productivity, occupations, international trade, and industries. Also shows "The U.S. Economy at a Glance."

Centers for Disease Control (CDC)
CDC.gov is the Center for Disease Control’s primary online communication channel.  CDC.gov provides users with credible, reliable health information on: data and statistics, diseases and conditions, emergencies and disasters, environmental health, and healthy living for individuals as well as Public Health professionals, healthcare providers, and researchers and scientists.

CDC Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report
The Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report is issued by the CDC.

National Library of Medicine Health Statistics Research Guide
This is not actually a statistical database, but a list of recommended resources for locating health statistics, maintained by the National Library of Medicine. The Health Statistics and Numerical Data subject guide includes some of the major sources of health and general statistics in the United States and a brief list of international resources.

OpenSecrets.org
From the Center for Responsive Politics, which is the nation's premier research group tracking money in U.S. politics and its effect on elections and public policy. The center is nonpartisan, independent and nonprofit.

State and Local Statistics

Georgia Statistics System
Supported by UGA, this website will customize the statistics, maps and graphs that you want from the latest data sources from the Georgia County Guide. Use the county-by-county analysis tool to compare multiple counties on a wide variety of categories, including Health, Population, Vital Statistics, Education and Natural Resources, among others.

OASIS - (Online Analytical Statistical Information System) - Georgia Division of Public Health
Use OASIS to access Georgia vital statistics, maternal and child health, Georgia Comprehensive Cancer Registry, and population data. Select data by age, race, sex, county or year. A GIS mapping tool is also available.

County Health Rankings
The County Health Rankings measure the health of nearly all counties in the nation and rank them within states. Compare counties on factors such as mortality, morbidity, health behaviors, clinical care, social & economic factors, and physical environment.  You can also see how a county compares to the state average and national benchmarks.

State Health Facts
Contains the latest state-level data on demographics, health, and health policy, including health coverage, access, financing, and state legislation. Compare Georgia to other states or to national data. This website is a project of the Kaiser Family Foundation.

Librarians

If you need assistance, please Ask Us or contact one of the Social Science Team librarians:

William Brogdon

William Brogdon
Research Services Librarian

Phone: 678-547-6379
E-mail: brogdon_wf@mercer.edu

Florence

Florence Tang 
Research Services Librarian

Phone: 678-547-6261 
E-mail: tang_fy@mercer.edu

 

 

Stephanie Miranda

Stephanie Miranda
Research Services Librarian


Phone: 478-301-5334
E-mail: miranda_sr@mercer.edu

 

SMichaels

Stephen E. Michaels
Team Coordinator

Phone: 678-547-6256
E-mail: michaels_se@mercer.edu

 

 

 

Personal tools
staff intranet Library Staff