Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Great Books

by Jeremy M. Brown last modified May 23, 2017 02:37 PM
Databases

Discovery - an EBSCO service allowing you to search multiple databases and the library catalog simultaneously. This is a great place to start searching, but I strongly recommend checking the databases listed below, as well.

JSTOR - This database provides access to complete back files of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. NOTE: JSTOR is primarily useful for locating older articles. This database is included in Discovery, but I recommend searching it separately.

Project MUSE (Standard Collection) — This is an interdisciplinary collection of high quality, peer reviewed journals extensively in the humanities and social sciences.

Arts & Humanities (ProQuest) — Includes hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.

Web of Science (Web of Knowledge) - Provides detailed citations and abstracts for the most highly respected scholarly periodicals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. This database is not included in Discovery.

Research Library - a general database providing access to scholarly journals and general magazines, many of which are available in full text. This database is not included in Discovery.

MLA International Bibliography - Recognized as the premiere literature database, this resource offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books, and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s. This database is included in Discovery.

Oxford Biblical Studies Online - A comprehensive resource for the study of the Bible and biblical history. Integrates authoritative scholarly texts and reference works with tools that provide ease of research into the background, context, and issues related to the Bible. This database is included in Discovery.

Literary Reference Center - This full-text database combines information from major reference works, books, and literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing. Included are thousands of plot summaries, synopses, and work overviews; literary criticism; author biographies; literary journal articles; book reviews; poems and short stories; full-text classic novels; and author interviews. This database is included in Discovery.

Oxford English Dictionary Online - Recognized as the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium, the OED provides definitions, etymological analysis, and quotations to demonstrate the use of words in the English language over time. The publisher, Oxford University Press, provides extensive information about the dictionary and its use on their website. This database is not included in Discovery.

Dissertations and Theses Full Text - This multidisciplinary database includes dissertations and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day. The database offers full-text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works.  This database is not included in Discovery.

Librarians

If you need assistance, please Ask Us or contact one of the Humanities Team librarians:

Course Specific Guides

GBK 101 Thomas, Fall 2016

 

Personal tools
staff intranet Library Staff