Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

English

by Jeremy M. Brown last modified May 23, 2017 02:32 PM
Databases

MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO) — Index of literature, languages, linguistics, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, and folklore from over 4,400 journals and serials, as well as books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. This database is considered one of the most authoritative in literature studies.

JSTOR — An online archive containing back issues of scholarly journals in many disciplines. This database was designed in conjunction with MLA as a repository for historical and simply less current articles on a variety of topics including literary studies.

Wiley Online Library — Wiley Online Library is a multi-disciplinary database that includes full-text journal articles for a variety of topics and fields including those of relevance to English scholars.

Literature Resource Center (Gale) — The world’s most current, comprehensive and reliable online literature database, Literature Resource Center is uniquely relevant to today’s researcher. Full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines are combined with critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, biographies, and more to provide a wealth of information on authors, their works, and literary movements.

Literature Online (ProQuest) — Also known as LION, this online resource for the study and teaching of literature in English. It combines the texts of over 355,000 literary works with a vast library of key criticism and reference resources. The essential criticism and reference resources, including an ever-growing library of full-text journals and author biographies, helps keep you up to date on the latest research into every aspect of literary and linguistic study.

Literary Reference Center (EBSCO) — Includes more than 10,000 plot summaries, synopses and work overviews; articles of literary criticism; author biographies; full text of over 300 literary journals; book reviews; 25,000 classic and contemporary poems; 11,000 classic and contemporary short stories; full text of over 7,500 classic novels; author interviews; and over 1,000 images of key literary figures.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
This multi-disciplinary full-text database includes more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.

Oxford English Dictionary Online — The OED covers words from across the English-speaking world, from North America to South Africa, from Australia and New Zealand to the Caribbean. It also offers the best in etymological analysis and in listing of variant spellings, and it shows pronunciation using the International Phonetic Alphabet.

Librarians

If you need assistance, please Ask Us or contact one of the Humanities Team librarians:

Course Specific Guides

 ENG 108 - Smith, Summer 2014

Personal tools
staff intranet Library Staff