Engineering

by Jeremy M. Brown last modified 2017-05-23T14:44:40-04:00
Databases

Search the following databases for scholarly articles, dissertations, and theses pertaining to engineering.

Getting started:

Discovery 
An EBSCO service allowing you to search multiple databases and the library catalog simultaneously. This service is made available to us through GALILEO, Georgia Library Learning Online, an initiative of the Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia.

Academic Search Complete 
Provides abstracts and indexing for over 3,800, as well as full text for over 3,200 scholarly journals and general magazines.

Research Library 
Provides abstracts and indexing for over 2,600, as well as full text for over 1,700 scholarly journals and general magazines. Research Library is an expansion of, and replacement for, the database titled Periodical Abstracts Research II.

Science & Technology Collection 
Topics include aeronautics, astrophysics, biology, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, marine sciences and materials science. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 1,700 publications.

SpringerLink — Springer's platform for accessing online journals and books.

 

Additional searching:

ScienceDirect 

Elsevier's e-journal/e-book platform. View our video tutorial to learn more about navigating ScienceDirect.

Web of Science 
Provides detailed citations and abstracts for the top scholarly periodicals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Includes the Science Citation Index, the Social Sciences Citation Index, and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Covers both domestic and international journals, open access resources, books, patents, proceedings, and Web sites.

Dissertations and Theses Full Text 
Covers dissertations accepted at accredited U.S. institutions since 1861. It selectively covers Master's theses and Canadian, British, and other international dissertations. Most dissertations since 1997, along with some earlier dissertations, are available in full text.

Environmental Science Collection 
Contains environmental science related full-text articles, granular access to figures and tables within articles, environmental impact statements, and the entire range of bibliographic records from Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management (ESPM). ESPM provides unparalleled and comprehensive coverage of the environmental sciences drawn from over 10,000 serials including scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications.

Environment Complete 
Offers coverage in the areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. The database also contains full text for more than 400 journals, including many of the most used journals in the discipline.

MathSciNet
An index of mathematical literature including Mathematical Reviews, American Mathematical Society journals and Current Mathematical Publications. 

Military
Covers topics across all government and military branches, including international relations, political science, criminology, defense, aeronautics and space flight, communications, civil engineering, and more.

Communication & Mass Media Complete 
Provides access to quality research journals and publications in areas related to communication and mass media. This database is particularly useful for Technical Communication courses.

 

Librarians

If you need assistance, please Ask Us or contact one of the Health, Engineering, and Sciences Team librarians:

Arlene Desselles
Coordinator
Phone: 678-547-6283
E-mail: 

Lowe, Louise

Louise Lowe
Phone: (678)547-6207 
E
-mail: lowe_ll@mercer.edu

Julie Huskey

Gail Morton
Phone: 478-301-2251
E-mail: 

Olson, Lee

Lee Olson
Phone: 478.301.2852
E-mail: olson_lt@mercer.edu

 

 

Course Specific Guides

TCO 141 Emerging Technology Assignment (Spring 2016)