- Education Full Text (EBSCO) — This full-text database covers key areas of education and related fields of study. Content areas include educational specialties, administration, funding and more.
- Education (ProQuest) — Covers not only the literature on primary, secondary, and higher education but also special education, home schooling, adult education, and hundreds of related topics.
- ERIC (EBSCO) — Covers all aspects of education and educational research, includes both abstracts of published and unpublished sources on thousands of educational topics. It corresponds to the printed indexes of RIE (Resources in Education) and CIJE (Current Index to Journals in Education).
- PsycINFO (EBSCO) — The American Psychological Association's (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. Included is information on the psychological aspects of education. 99% peer-reviewed content.
- Professional Development Collection (EBSCO) — Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports.
- Teacher Reference Center (EBSCO) — Provides indexing and abstracts for 280 periodicals. In addition, 96% of journals indexed in TRC are peer-reviewed. Topics include: Assessment, Best Practices, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Elementary Education, Higher Education, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, School Administration, Science & Mathematics, and Teacher Education.
- Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print (EBSCO) — Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments and serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced professionals, the series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products.
- Children's Literature Comprehensive Database — CLCD is an ever growing online database with over 400,000 reviews and related information about children's literature. CLCD contains reviews supplied by over 38 quality review media. Also included are curriculum tools a variety of search options to help you find books by subject, age level, genre, and more.
- Child Development and Adolescent Studies — This database is today's source for references to the current and historical literature related to growth and development of children through the age of 21. This includes all of the issues of Child Development Abstracts & Bibliography from 1927-2001 previously published by the Society for Research in Child Development, plus new coverage on child rights and welfare issues.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) — A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
- Research Library (ProQuest) — The database includes more than 5,000 titles - over 3,500 in full text - from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
- JSTOR — An online archive containing back issues of scholarly journals in many disciplines.
- MasterFILE Elite (EBSCO) —Provides full text for magazines, periodicals and reference books covering a wide-range of subject areas. This database also provides an Image Collection containing photos, maps and flags.
- Dissertations and Theses (ProQuest) — Covers dissertations accepted at accredited U.S. institutions since 1861. It selectively covers Master's theses and Canadian, British, and other international dissertations. Most dissertations since 1997, along with some earlier dissertations, are available in full text.
- WorldCat (FirstSearch) — WorldCat is a catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide. WorldCat is part of the database offerings in GALILEO, Georgia's Virtual Libraries. Use to determine other libraries that own a resource and for initiating an ARCHE or interlibrary loan request.
Databases for Children
- KidsClick! Web Search for Kids by Librarians — This is not really a database but a collection of links to sites for kids on current events, science and math, fine arts, sports and recreation and more.
- Middle Search Plus (EBSCO) — This database contains full text for dozens of popular middle school magazines as well as thousands of biographies and historical essays.
- Primary Search (EBSCO) — Provides full text for more than 70 popular, magazines for elementary school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and full text information dates as far back as 1990.
- Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia [for children] (EBSCO) — A general encyclopedia in Searchasaurus, containing over 25,000 information segments appropriate for the research needs of school students.
- Explora for Elementary (EBSCO) — Designed for elementary students. Students can browse topics of interest or search for a topic of their choice. Search results can be limited to source type (e.g., magazines, news, biographies, etc.) or by Lexile range. Includes: American Heritage Children's Dictionary, Book Collection: Nonfiction, Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia, History Reference Center, and Primary Search.
- Explora for Middle School (EBSCO) — Designed for middle school students. Students can browse topics of interest or search for a topic of their choice. Search results can be limited to source type or by Lexile range. Includes: Book Collection: Nonfiction, Consumer Health Complete, Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia, Health Source - Consumer Edition, History Reference Center, Literary Reference Center, MAS Ultra - School Edition, MasterFILE Elite, Middle Search Plus, Newspaper Source, Primary Search, and TOPICsearch.
- Explora for High School (EBSCO) — Designed for high school students. Includes: Advanced Placement Source, Book Collection: Nonfiction, Business Source Complete, Columbia Encyclopedia, Consumer Health Complete, ERIC, Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia, GreenFILE, Health Source - Consumer Edition, History Reference Center, Literary Reference Center, MAS Ultra - School Edition, MasterFILE Elite, Middle Search Plus, Newspaper Source, Primary Search, TOPICsearch, and Vocational and Career Collection.
Stephen E. Michaels
- ional Leadership
- EMAT 605
- EDUC 690: Introduction to Educational Research
- EDUC 334: Literature and Language Arts (McNeese, Fall 2015)
- : Curriculum-Based Assessment (McNeese, Fall 2015)
- EDCI 811: Quantitative Research Methodology (McNeese, Fall 2015)
- EDCI 813: Advanced Inferential Statistics (McNeese, Fall 2015)
- EDUC 695: Educational Research for School Leaders (Issac, Fall 2014)
- EDCI 809: Doctoral Seminar: Scholarly Writing (Augustine, Summer 2015)