Classical Studies

by Jeremy M. Brown last modified 2017-07-05T15:32:50-04:00
Databases

Discovery - an EBSCO service allowing you to search multiple databases and the library catalog simultaneously. This is a great place to start searching, but I strongly recommend checking the databases listed below, as well.

JSTOR - This database provides access to complete back files of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. NOTE: JSTOR is primarily useful for locating older articles. This is due to an agreement with publishers where JSTOR typically does not provide full text coverage for the most recent 2 to 5 years, in exchange for complete archival access. A guide is available to help students using this database. The articles in this database may be found via Discovery, but are easily overlooked if you don't know what you're doing. I recommend searching it separately.

Arts & Humanities (ProQuest) — Includes hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.

ARTstor Digital Library — This resource provides over 1.5 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences, and is a great resource for viewing ancient artwork of all types, as well as more recent interpretations of ancient history and mythology. Please reference the Terms and Conditions for information on how to responsibly use the images in this collection. This database is included in Discovery.

Research Library - a general database providing access to scholarly journals and general magazines, many of which are available in full text. Many of the resources in this database will not be found via Discovery

Historical Abstracts (EBSCO) — Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. While the majority of the resources available deal with modern history, the Classical time period is also included. This database is included in Discovery.

Dissertations and Theses Full Text - The database offers full-text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. This database is not included in Discovery, and is a good resource when researching obscure topics or recent research developments.

Librarians

If you need assistance, please Ask Us or contact one of the Humanities Team librarians: